Steering Committee

Mathieu Vandecandelaere

Chairman 18th Symposium on Perfusion  
Clinical Perfusionist UZ Gent

Kenny Van Zwam
Clinical Perfusionist UZ Leuven

Dieter De Keyzer
Clinical Perfusionist ZOL Genk

Didier Lintermans
Clinical Perfusionist AZ Maria Middelares Gent

Margot Vandersteegen
Clinical Perfusionist ZOL Genk

Korneel Vandewiele
Clinical Perfusionist UZ Gent

Scientific Faculty

Kristof Van de Voorde

Clinical Perfusionist UZ Leuven

"Implementation of Organ Perfusion in Clinical Practice: The Leuven Experience"

Mona Momeni

Adult & Pediatric Cardiothoracic and Vascular Anesthesiologist, Cliniques Universitaires Saint-Luc

Full professor at  Universit√© Catholique de Louvain

"Monitoring the Young Brain during Cardiac Surgery"

Harlinde Peperstraete

Anesthesiologist and Intensive Care Physician, University Hospital of Ghent

"Beyond Survival: Unveiling the Hidden Realm of Post-ECPR Quality of Life"

Veerle Lantinga

PhD student in ex-vivo kidney perfusion, Organ Perfusionist, Course Director International Course for Organ Perfusion Groningen

"Reducing Cold Ischemia During Backtable Procedures using Machine Perfusion"

Matthias Thielmann

MD, PhD, Board Certified Cardiothoracic Surgeon, West-German Heart & Vascular Center Essen, University of Duisburg-Essen

"Bleeding Risks within Cardiac Surgery"

Lourdes Chacon-Alberty

Research Scientist, Texas Heart Institute

"Effect of Intraoperative Support Mode on Circulating Inflammatory Biomarkers after Lung Transplantation Surgery"

David Chambers

Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guys & St. Thomas NHS Foundation Trust

"Myocardial Protection or Endothelial Protection"

Marco Ranucci

MD, IRCCS Policlinico S. Donato

"The Multifactorial Perfusion Index"

Ruben Foubert

MD, Residency at UZ Leuven

"Protamine Titration to Optimize Heparin Antagonization after Cardiopulmonary Bypass"

Isabelle Van Herzeele

Associate Professor at Ghent University
Consultant Vascular Surgery

"The Legacy of Mary H. Gibbon and Mary Edwards Walker anno 2023"
Duo presentation with Leen Vercaemst

Leen Vercaemst

Clinical Perfusionist UZ Leuven
Euro Elso Perfusion Liaison
EBCP Board Member

"The Legacy of Mary H. Gibbon and Mary Edwards Walker anno 2023"
Duo presentation with Prof. Isabelle Van Herzeele

Lisa Prahl Wittberg

Professor of Fluid Mechanics
KTH Royal Institute of Technology

"Cannulation confuguration and recirculation in veno-venous extracorporeal membrane oxygenation"

Ariane Willems

Senior Medical Specialist PICU
Universital Hopsital Leiden (LUMC)

"Anti-Xa versus time-guided anticoagulation strategies in extracorporeal membrane oxygenation: a systematic review and meta-analysis"

Martje Suverein

PhD candidate Intensive Care
University Hospital of Maastricht (MUMC)

"Early Extracorporeal CPR for Refractory Out-of-Hospital Cardiac Arrest"